Home

Julstro International

A Pain-Free Living Community

Have you benefited from Julstro Muscular Therapy?

Submit a Testimonial!

It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 4:07 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: serratus anterior spasm
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 11:03 am 

Hi Julie,

Have not posted in some time. Because I find your treatments so effective, I have no need.
First, I am an old hand at finding and successfully treating TPs in quads, hips, low back, shoulder, forearm, you name it.

Till now - I have been doing heavy chest presses w/ no prob. V. recently, I increased the ROM to do a slightly deeper press and I think it has sent my SA into a major spasm. I am a personal trainer and I am almost 100% sure it is the SA.

I have tried to treat it and I have found a couple of exquisitely painful areas, but unlike past experience, it is not helping. In fact, working the painful origin point on the anterior-lateral rib area under my armpits seems to make it spasm! I have been working the entire area looking for other points and have found others, but same result.

Can there be a pull with no real TP, just pain and tightness? What would you advise?

Also, when I work a TP with my fingers, it seems to release while I am pressing. But, when I take my hand away, I feel it
spasm again...

Thanks - Christine

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 1:20 pm 

So much for 100% sure.

After more searching, I think the culprit is the lat. When I put the ball under the posterior armpit area, there is a
very painful trigger point. Working this provides alot of relief the the rib area w/o causing spasm. So, I think I am on the right track.
Don't know if this is right, but I think that when you find the correct TP, you get immediate relief.
C

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 1:32 pm 

Hi Christine,